Evelyn Tadros (Chair)
Sarah Gorman
Abigail Hand

Russell Gordon (Treasurer)
Madeleine Grummet
Cheri Le Cornu

Peter Capodistrias
Jeanine Froomes


Aleta Moriarty

Aleta Moriarty comes from her role as Ethics and Sustainability Manager at Cotton On Group where she managed the company’s ethics and sustainability initiatives. She has over eight years’ experience in the multilateral agencies, the United Nations and World Bank, the latter where she managed the regional gender portfolio. Her work in women’s rights continued in her role with the International Women’s Development Agency in 2014, working in the area of women’s civil and political participation. Aleta’s knowledge of business and human rights was recognized through her selection to the Government’s Multi-Stakeholder Advisory Group on the Implementation of the UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights.

Lauren Valmadre
Program Director 

Lauren Valmadre has worked for Victoria’s most renowned film institutions, including Melbourne International Film Festival and the Melbourne Queer Film Festival. Aside from her role as Program Director at HRAFF, she has programmed the 2016/2017 season of Shimmerlands. From 2014 to 2015, she has also curated a 4-week spring season film program at Brunswick arts space Howler. Following the 2016 Festival, Lauren was promoted from Programming Manager to Program Director. Lauren was recently on a pitching panel at the 2017 Australian International Documentary Conference (AIDC).

Vyshnavee Wijekumar
Marketing and Partnerships Director

Vy Wijekumar has an extensive background in marketing within the festival and distribution space, with both Australian and international content. Previous roles include working at Village Roadshow on the marketing of Australian Broadcasting Corporation TV titles and Marketing Executive at the popular Indian Film Festival of Melbourne. Following the 2016 Festival, Vy was promoted from Marketing & Development Manager to Marketing & Partnerships Director. She also recently moderated a panel on ‘Women Getting a Start in Screen Culture’ at the inaugural 2017 Melbourne Women in Film Festival.

Matilda McKenna
Operations Manager

In conjunction with her role at HRAFF, Matilda McKenna has also volunteered for the Centre for Multicultural Youth in their Social Inclusion Program, focused on recently arrived migrants, refugees and asylum seekers. She originally joined HRAFF as Festival Administrator. Following the 2016 Festival, Matilda was promoted from Festival Administrator to Operations Manager, assuming new responsibilities including the secretariat support for the board, inhouse accounts and the coordination of HRAFF’s donor program. Matilda has also hosted a weekly radio show on SYN Radio, discussing arts and culture, feminism and gender issues.

Kate McCarthy Ficai
CineSeeds Project Coordinator 

Kate Ficai has over 20 years of experience in the film and television industry including production, post-visual effects, and animation, from documentary to community television. Kate holds qualifications in primary teaching and has held roles at Australian Teachers of Media (ATOM), Australian International Documentary Conference (AIDC) and the Australian Centre for the Moving Image (ACMI). Kate joined HRAFF in 2017 in the newly created role of CineSeeds Project Coordinator. 

Trevor Shard
Finance Manager

Trevor Shard has extensive experience in finance, corporate governance and communications, holds a Bachelor of Economics with post graduate qualification in applied finance, membership of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and has been admitted as a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Secretaries. Trevor has previously held roles as Chief Financial Officer, Investor and Community Relations, Business Analyst and Financial Director of listed, unlisted, and private companies. Trevor was appointed Finance Manager of HRAFF in 2017.

Gala committee

Rossie James (Chair)
Lisa McCorkell (Assistant Chair)
Jeanine Froomes (Board Representative)
Helen Gaffney Abigail Hand (Board representative)
Carolyn Krohn 

Paula McCall
Kate O’Brien
Vanessa Theodore
Atalanta Woodward

CineSeeds committee

Sarah George (Co-Chair)
Madeline O’Connor (Co-Chair)
Katie Batzias
George Bruce
Jill Cutchey

Sarah Gorman (Board Representative)
Eleanor Nicolay
Kate O’Brien
Lida Rahdon

Gala ambassadors

William Allen
Mim Bartlett
Pip Batten
Georgie Bruce
Celia Burrell AM
Lisa Button
Caroline Chernov

Nicole Cullen
Sarah Gorman (Board Representative)
Fem Hunter
Marian James
Emma Strauss
Elli Walker

Spread the Word & Share

Subscribe To Our Newsletter